999 Fifth Avenue, Suite 350, San Rafael, CA 94901

Call Today for Your Free Consultation
Call Us 415-729-7300

Driving on a Suspended License in California

Posted on in License Suspension

Sonoma License Suspension AttorneyIn California, a number of offenses are punishable by driver's license suspension. Conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) results in a six-month suspension while a second offense is punishable by a two-year suspension. Driver's license suspension is not always due to drunk driving, however. Getting into an accident without auto insurance, having too many points on your driver's license, and even failing to pay child support can lead to a license suspension.

Penalties for Driving When Your Driver's License is Suspended

Once a person's license is suspended, driving any vehicle is prohibited. Driving with a suspended license is a criminal offense. The penalties for driving with a suspended license in California depend on the reason for the suspension and the number of prior offenses. A first offense is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. A second offense is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. However, the penalties are even more severe if someone with a suspended license gets into an accident in which another person is injured.

If you are facing charges for driving with a suspended license, it is important to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney. An attorney can help you understand the charges against you and the possible defenses that may be available.

Potential Defenses for Driving on a Suspended Driver's License

One possible defense against criminal charges for driving with a suspended license is a lack of knowledge of the suspension. The DMV is required to notify drivers in writing when their licenses are going to be suspended. If you never received this notice, you may have a valid defense against the charges.

Another possible defense is that your license was suspended for a reason that is not listed under California's vehicle code as a reason for suspension. For example, if your license was suspended because you failed to appear in court, this may be a valid defense against the charges.

Finally, you may be able to get the charges against you reduced or dismissed if you can show that you only drove because there was no other reasonable way for you to get to work, school, or a medical appointment.

If you were charged with driving on a suspended license, it is important that you speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help you understand your rights and defenses.

Contact a San Marian Criminal Defense Lawyer

If you were caught driving without a valid license, you need a criminal defense lawyer who can help you defend yourself. Contact Napa criminal defense attorney Paul Burglin at 415-729-7300 for a free consultation.

 

Source:

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=14601

VISIT OUR OTHER WEBSITES SONOMA NAPA SAN FRANCISCO MARIN OAKLAND
Back to Top