999 Fifth Avenue, Suite 350, San Rafael, CA 94901

Call Today for Your Free Consultation
Call Us 415-729-7300

San Francisco, CA DUI Accident Lawyer

Mill Valley DUI Accidents Attorney

Drunk Driving Accidents Defense Attorney in Marin County

If you have been involved in a vehicle accident while driving under the influence, you are facing harsh legal consequences. If the accident resulted in death or serious injury, the penalties are even more severe. A DUI accident can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony, and punishment for a conviction can include heavy fines, prison or jail time, and other serious consequences.

For more than three decades, Burglin Law Offices, P.C. has successfully defended motorists charged with DUI during an accident in Marin County and throughout northern California. Attorney Paul Burglin co-authors California Drunk Driving Law, an industry legal guide that is commonly referred to as "the Bible of DUI defense." Paul knows how the system works, and which defense strategies to employ to mitigate the consequences as much as possible. His successful track record is a major reason DMV hearing officers, judges, and prosecutors frequently seek him out when a friend or family member is in legal trouble because of a DUI accident.

Consequences of DUI Accidents in California

In drunk driving vehicle accident cases, penalties vary widely depending on the totality of circumstances and which California DUI law they are charged under. The general guidelines for first-time DUI accident convictions are as follows:

  • DUI with Injury – CA Vehicle Code 23153: Misdemeanor or felony. As a misdemeanor, up to one year in county jail and up to a $5,000 fine. As a felony, up to $100,000 in fines and two to six years in prison.
  • DUI Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence – CA Penal Code 191.5(a): Misdemeanor or felony. As a misdemeanor, $1,000 in fines and up to one year in county jail. As a felony, $10,000 in fines and four to ten years in prison.
  • DUI Vehicular Manslaughter without Gross Negligence – CA Penal Code 191.5(b): Misdemeanor or felony. As a misdemeanor, up to $5,000 in fines and up to one year in county jail. As a felony, $10,000 in fines and two to six years in prison.
  • DUI Murder/Watson – CA Penal Code 187: Felony with a $10,000 fine and 15 years to life in prison.

Additional consequences of DUI accidents may include:

  • Driver's license suspension/revocation;
  • The requirement to attend AA meetings and DUI school;
  • Community service work;
  • Several years of probation; and
  • Installation of a breath-alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID).

Contact a Marin County DUI Accidents Lawyer

A drunk driving accident conviction can negatively impact your life for years to come. In addition to the legal consequences, you may have difficulty obtaining employment, housing, loans, or college admission. You may also find yourself facing the suspension, revocation, or denial of a professional license. Attorney Paul Burglin understands what is at stake, and he works hard on your behalf to minimize the damage, so you can put this behind you and move forward with your life.

For a free, personalized consultation with attorney Burglin, contact our office today at 415-729-7300. We serve clients throughout the Bay Area, including Marin County, Tiburon, Sausalito, Mill Valley, Larkspur, San Rafael, Novato, San Anselmo, and Fairfax. We handle locals and tourists cited in the wine country, Sonoma and Napa, as well as those cited in San Francisco, Oakland, and Martinez.
Back to Top