999 Fifth Avenue, Suite 350, San Rafael, CA 94901

Call Today for Your Free Consultation
Call Us 415-729-7300

San Rafael, CA Underage DUI Lawyer

Mill Valley Underage DUI Attorney

Defense Attorney for Drivers Under Age 21 Arrested for Drunk Driving in Marin County and the Bay Area

Underage DUI in California carries with it some harsh penalties. In addition to possibly being charged with the standard DUI misdemeanor offenses that come with driving with .08 percent or higher blood alcohol content, California has two additional charges that may be leveled against persons under the age of 21: VC §23140 prohibits such persons from driving with a .05 percent or higher alcohol content, and VC §23136 prohibits such persons from driving with a .01 percent or higher alcohol content (the latter offense is referred to as the "zero tolerance law"). This means that virtually any amount of alcohol in the system of an underage driver can result in negative consequences. If you are under 21 years old and have been arrested or cited for one of these DUI offenses, it is important to speak with an experienced attorney, so you understand your rights and options.

For over three decades, Burglin Law Offices, P.C. has successfully defended minors charged with underage DUI in Marin County and throughout the Bay Area. Attorney Paul Burglin co-authors California Drunk Driving Law, a two-volume treatise frequently referred to by other lawyers in the state who are defending DUI clients. Paul is one of only five California attorneys Board-Certified by the National College of DUI Defense, as approved by the American Bar Association, and he is often called upon by judges, prosecutors, and DMV hearing officers when someone in their own personal network is arrested for DUI.

Because of his successful track record and in-depth knowledge of this area of the law, most of Paul's clients come through referrals. He does not accept everyone that comes to him, because DUI cases require the proper time and attention to ensure a positive outcome. If you are serious about defending the charges against you and Paul accepts your case, he will put his extensive experience to work to minimize the consequences of your underage DUI arrest.

Penalties for Underage DUI in California

California DUI laws for drivers under the age of 21 vary depending on their blood alcohol content (BAC) level and other circumstances:

  • BAC of .01 or Higher (CA Vehicle Code 23136): Driver's license suspension for up to one year, with the possibility of a restricted license after 30 days, plus fines and assessments.
  • BAC of .05 or Higher (CA Vehicle Code 23140): Up to a one-year driver's license suspension, fines and assessments, and mandatory alcohol education.
  • BAC of .08 or Higher (CA Vehicle Code 23152a & 23152b): Standard adult misdemeanor DUI charge with driver's license suspension, fines and assessments, up to six months in jail, mandatory drinking driver school, three to five years of probation, and possible installation of a breath-alcohol ignition interlock device (IID).
  • Possession of Alcohol in the Vehicle of an Underage Driver (CA Vehicle Code 23224): Fines and assessments, up to one-year driver's license suspension, and vehicle impoundment for 30 days.

Keep in mind that the underage DUI penalties listed here are for a first-time DUI arrest. If you have multiple DUIs, or there are aggravated circumstances such as an especially high BAC level, refusal to submit to a chemical test, or your DUI caused bodily injury, then the penalties become even harsher.

Contact a Marin County Underage DUI Lawyer

An underage DUI is a serious matter. Being charged with drunk driving if you are under age 21 can negatively impact your life in numerous ways. In addition to the immediate consequences, you will pay higher auto insurance rates, and a criminal conviction can affect your ability to obtain employment, housing, admission to college, and student loans.

Attorney Paul Burglin understands the intricacies of DUI law, and the most effective DUI defense strategies to minimize the negative impact of a drunk driving arrest. For a free personalized consultation with attorney Burglin, contact our office today at 415-729-7300. We serve clients throughout the Bay Area, including Marin County, Tiburon, Sausalito, Mill Valley, Larkspur, San Rafael, Novato, San Anselmo and Fairfax. We handle locals and tourists cited in the wine country of Sonoma and Napa, as well as those cited in San Francisco, Oakland, and Martinez.

Back to Top