999 Fifth Avenue, Suite 350, San Rafael, CA 94901

Call Today for Your Free Consultation
Call Us 415-729-7300

San Rafael, CA First Time DUI Lawyer

San Francisco First Time DUI Lawyer

Attorney for First Drunk Driving Arrest Defense in Marin County

If you have been charged with your first DUI, the consequences are not as severe for first-time DUIs as they are for second or multiple DUIs, but it will still be costly, and a criminal conviction may impact your ability to obtain employment, college admission, housing, and loans. With so much on the line, you cannot afford to fight this battle on your own.

For over three decades, Burglin Law Offices, P.C. has provided strong representation for first-time DUI offenders in Marin County and throughout Northern California. Attorney Paul Burglin co-authors California Drunk Driving Law, the book that is frequently referenced by other California attorneys when they are defending DUI clients. Paul is one of only five lawyers in the state who are Board-Certified by the National College of DUI Defense, and he is the "go to" attorney for DMV hearing officers, prosecutors, and judges whose family members and friends are facing a DUI charge.

Paul takes a no-nonsense approach to DUI defense; he will not invade your privacy with misleading marketing materials mailed to your home. This is not the way he operates. His clientele comes mostly from referrals generated by a successful track record. In fact, Paul does not accept everyone as a client, because DUI cases require the proper time and attention to ensure a favorable outcome. If you do become his client, you can be assured that he will work hard to minimize the negative consequences of your first-time DUI charge.

Penalties for First-Time DUI in California

If you are lawfully arrested with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 or greater, you will likely be charged with at least two criminal offenses: driving under the influence and driving with a .08 percent or higher alcohol content. In general, a conviction for a first-time DUI (or your first DUI within a 10-year period) in California is a misdemeanor.

Assuming there are no aggravated circumstances such as bodily injury or fatalities, a first-time DUI conviction can incur the following penalties:

  • Up to $2,300 or more in fines and penalty assessments;
  • Up to six months in county jail;
  • Community service work;
  • Attendance at AA meetings;
  • Driver's license suspension for six months, with the possibility of obtaining a restricted license after 30 days;
  • Three to nine months of DUI school;
  • Three to five years of probation; and
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device.

When you are charged with a DUI, Paul goes to work immediately to thoroughly investigate the evidence and circumstances of the case and identify any and all weaknesses that can be used to either reduce the charges to a lesser offense (such as speeding or reckless driving) or have the charges dismissed altogether. His in-depth knowledge of this area of the law and how these types of cases are prosecuted puts his clients in the best possible position to obtain a positive outcome.

Contact an Experienced San Rafael Hall of Justice First-Time DUI Attorney

A first-time DUI conviction can turn your world upside down. Having a misdemeanor conviction on your record can negatively impact your future in numerous ways. If you are serious about defending the charges against you, then you need a seasoned advocate who knows how the system works and what strategies are most likely to yield success. For a free personalized consultation with attorney Paul Burglin, contact our office today at 415-729-7300. We serve clients throughout the Bay Area, including Marin County (Tiburon, Sausalito, Mill Valley, Larkspur, San Rafael, Novato, San Anselmo, Fairfax). We handle locals and tourists cited in the wine country (Sonoma and Napa), as well as those cited in San Francisco, Oakland, and Martinez.

VISIT OUR OTHER WEBSITES SONOMA NAPA SAN FRANCISCO MARIN
Back to Top