999 Fifth Avenue, Suite 350, San Rafael, CA 94901

Call Today for Your Free Consultation
Call Us 415-729-7300

Reinstating Your License After a DUI

 Posted on November 15, 2022 in License Suspension

California license reinstatement lawyerFew penalties associated with driving under the influence (DUI) arrests hit people as hard as driver’s license suspensions because the loss of driving abilities often dramatically changes how people operate on a daily basis. Anybody who is dealing with a DUI and needs help seeking driver’s license reinstatement in California will want to be sure that they retain legal counsel for help satisfying all of the many demands placed on people seeking restoration of their driving privileges.

Those who are convicted of DUI offenses in California can be subject to a wide range of possible suspension periods, and a person is not automatically reinstated as a lawful driver once the suspension ends. There is instead a full reinstatement process a person must complete to be considered a lawful driver again.

How Reinstatement Works in California

Seeking reinstatement is not the same as challenging your suspension, which you can legally do after your DUI arrest when a police officer gives you a notice of suspension. You will have 10 days to request a California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hearing that is overseen by a DMV employee. This type of hearing only requires the DMV to prove a person was arrested for violating state DUI laws by a preponderance of the evidence, which is a much lower standard than beyond a reasonable doubt.

Reinstatement of your license will involve fulfilling these six steps:

  1. Complete the full period of license suspension. Whether your suspension was for six months or three years, you need to wait until that full period of time passes before you can apply for reinstatement.
  2. Serve your entire jail or prison sentence. A person cannot reinstate their driver’s license until they serve the full term to which they were sentenced. When jail time is converted to some kind of work or other alternative sentencing program, documentation will be required that the person completed the program.
  3. Complete DUI school. All DUI offenders will have to attend DUI school, which is a classroom course that may last as little as three months or as much as 30 months depending on the conviction. A person cannot reinstate their license without completing this course, which makes the Notice of Completion important.
  4. Complete all other sentencing conditions. It is possible for some people’s DUI sentences to have mandatory drug or alcohol treatment. Other drivers may be required to install ignition interlock devices (IIDs) on their vehicles. Everybody must complete all terms of their sentences before they can reinstate their licenses and present documentation proving each requirement was satisfied.
  5. Get an SR-22. Many drivers convicted of DUI are required to get a special form of car insurance called SR-22, which simply states that you are a high-risk driver. SR-22 policies can be more expensive than regular policies, so you want to clarify how long you must maintain this policy.
  6. Apply for reinstatement. After you complete all of the prior steps, you will be ready to go to your local DMV office to apply for reinstatement. Make sure you speak to an attorney before you begin.

Contact a San Francisco Driver’s License Reinstatement Lawyer

If you need help regaining your driver’s license following a DUI in California, get a Napa driver’s license reinstatement lawyer on your side as soon as possible. Burglin Law Offices, P.C. has represented countless people in DUI cases since 1985, and Paul Burglin has been lead counsel in more than 120 DUI jury trials.

Our firm understands all of the frustrating challenges people are dealing with following DUI arrests, and we can walk you through the entire process to limit your frustrations and help you remain calm. Call 415-729-7300 or contact us online to set up a free consultation.





Share this post:
Back to Top