999 Fifth Avenue, Suite 350, San Rafael, CA 94901

Call Today for Your Free Consultation
Call Us 415-729-7300

What Happens if You Get Charged with DUI for the Third Time?

Posted on in DUI

sonoma-county-dui-defense-attorney.jpgDrunk driving is a criminal offense punished by fees, license revocation, and even jail time. The severity of the penalties associated with drunk driving charges depends on several factors including the person’s past criminal history.

If you were arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) and you have two prior DUI convictions on your record, the penalties you face are especially harsh. It is important to contact a DUI defense lawyer right away.  Your lawyer can help you understand your options, protect your rights as a criminal defendant, and determine the best way to defend yourself against the DUI charges.

Criminal Penalties for a Third Drunk Driving Conviction

Penalties for driving under the influence increase with each subsequent offense. Conviction for a third-time DUI offense in California is punishable by:

  • Three to five years probation

  • 120 days to one year in jail

  • Up to $3,000 in fines

  • A three-year driver’s license revocation

  • Mandatory participation in a DUI education program

  • Mandatory interlock device

Certain aggravating circumstances can increase the severity of a third-time DUI offense and lead to even harsher penalties. Aggravating circumstances including being underage, having a blood alcohol content of 0.15 percent or more, having a child under age 14 in the car, and causing an accident while under the influence.

Usually, a third-time DUI offense is a misdemeanor in California. However, if someone was hurt in an accident caused by a drunk driver, the driver may face felony charges. A third DUI may also be a felony if the person has been convicted of felony DUI in the past.

Defense Options if You are Charged with DUI for the Third Time

If you were charged with DUI for the third time, the penalties you face have the potential to radically alter your life. However, it is important to remember that criminal defendants have rights protected by the Constitution, including the right to work with an attorney. Your lawyer can help you defend yourself against the charges and explore various options for avoiding or reducing jail time. Many people who get a third DUI suffer from alcoholism. They have tried to stop drinking but attempts to quit have been unsuccessful. If this situation describes you, you may be able to serve your jail sentence in a rehabilitation facility instead of a jail cell.

Contact a San Francisco DUI Defense Lawyer

If you were already convicted of drunk driving twice in the past and you are arrested for DUI a third time, contact Burglin Law Offices, P.C. right away. Napa defense attorney Paul Burglin has represented thousands of people accused of DUI. He has the legal knowledge and skills to present an aggressive defense case on your behalf. Call 415-729-7300 to set up a free consultation.

Source:

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=23600.

VISIT OUR OTHER WEBSITES SONOMA NAPA SAN FRANCISCO MARIN OAKLAND
Back to Top