999 Fifth Avenue, Suite 350, San Rafael, CA 94901

Call Today for Your Free Consultation
Call Us 415-729-7300

San Rafael, CA Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer

Mill Valley Domestic Violence Defense Attorney

Marin County Attorney Defends Clients Charged with Domestic Assault and Battery

Committing a violent crime against anyone is a serious offense. However, if the alleged victim is someone close to you, the penalties in California are more severe. Unfortunately, many individuals are falsely accused of domestic violence each year, or the circumstances are blown out of proportion with only one side being heard. If this has happened to you, it is important to have an experienced attorney by your side fighting hard to protect your rights and interests.

For over 30 years, Burglin Law Offices, P.C. has successfully defended individuals who have been charged with domestic violence in Marin County and throughout northern California. Because these types of cases frequently involve the use of alcohol by one or both parties, Attorney Burglin is often called upon to handle their defense. Mr. Burglin has extensive experience in this area of the law, and he is widely known and well-respected by prosecutors and judges as a tenacious advocate for his clients.

Domestic Violence Laws in California

An individual can be charged with domestic violence if his/her alleged victim is:

  • A former or current spouse of the accused;
  • The fiancé or fiancée of the accused;
  • A former or current co-habitant of the accused (i.e., someone who lived with the accused for a substantial time period);
  • A former or current dating partner of the accused; or
  • The other parent of a child of the accused.

There are several statutes that an individual accused of domestic violence in California can be charged under. These include:

  • Domestic Assault: Punishable with fines of up to $1,000 and up to six months in jail.
  • Domestic Battery: Punishable with fines of up to $2,000 and up to one year in jail.
  • Corporal Injury to a Spouse or Cohabitant: As a misdemeanor, punishable with fines of up to $6,000 and up to one year in jail. As a felony, punishable with a prison sentence of up to four years.
  • Child Abuse: As a misdemeanor, punishable with fines of up to $6,000 and up to one year in jail. As a felony, punishable with a prison sentence of up to six years.
  • Criminal Threats: As a misdemeanor, punishable with fines of up to $1,000 and up to one year in jail. As a felony, punishable with a prison sentence of up to three years.

In California, an arrest for domestic violence typically initiates two cases: the criminal case for the alleged crime, and a civil restraining order case. In addition, if the accused is a lawyer, medical doctor, airline pilot, or any other type of professional license holder, another case may be initiated by the licensing board to suspend, revoke, or deny the issuance of a license.

Speak with a Marin County Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer

A domestic violence conviction can lead to the loss of employment, loss of spousal support, loss of child custody or visitation, and numerous other negative consequences. Attorney Paul Burglin understands what is at stake, and he puts his extensive experience to work to develop the most effective defense strategies to mitigate the situation as much as possible.

If you have been accused of domestic violence in California, give attorney Burglin a call before talking to the police. For a personalized consultation, contact us today at 415-729-7300. We serve clients throughout Marin County and the Bay Area, including Marin County, Tiburon, Sausalito, Mill Valley, Larkspur, San Rafael, Novato, San Anselmo, Fairfax, Sonoma and Napa, San Francisco, Oakland, and Martinez.
VISIT OUR OTHER WEBSITES SONOMA NAPA SAN FRANCISCO MARIN
Back to Top